One Day To Go

I’m like a child waiting for Christmas! The excitement levels are reaching a crescendo and I can hardly believe I’m at this point! I’m 60 and my first book is published tomorrow, As if you didn’t know it’s called ‘A Higher Authority’.

The marketing campaign is well under way. With the help of my daughter Rachel I’ve produced posters for the book signing at Waterstones in Bedford on Saturday. (That’s 17th May, 10 – 4pm. Do join us.)  I took them down yesterday and walked past the shop 10 minutes later. One of the posters was already up in the window and the biggest ego trip of all, SOMEONE WAS LOOKING AT IT!! I wanted to go over and kiss the lady but decided discretion was the better part of valour!

I’ve had my haircut ready for two radio interviews (Well they do have webcams!) and look a very smart chap(ish). I’m on BBC Three Counties Radio tomorrow at 12.30pm and BBC London 94.9 between 11pm and 12pm. Do listen in. If you’re out of area you can tune in on the BBC iplayer.

On top of that the publisher is organising a ‘virtual’ launch party on facebook tomorrow. I haven’t really got a clue what we’ll be doing but it all sounds like jolly good fun. About 500 people have been invited so let’s hope they all buy books.

I’m just about to hit the button to all my email contacts, there’s about 250 of them to tell them the good news. I think most of them know, but best to make sure! I’d hate anyone missing out on purchasing this fine piece of prose.

I’ve come a long way since the dark days when I was put on the scrap heap by my employer. Fortunately I’ve re invented myself and I don’t have to answer to anyone, apart from the reader.

I’ve got a busy few days ahead of me, thanks for your support and just to confirm,  I’m delighted to inform you that my new novel ‘A Higher Authority’ will be published tomorrow, 15th May by Safkhet Publishing. Available from all good book shops both as an ebook at £1.84 and a paperback at £7.99. A splendid read is guaranteed for all!

Image

2 responses to “One Day To Go”

  1. sallylomax says :

    I’ve ordered my signed copies. Looking forward to them arriving, and to the virtual launch party. It’s all VERY exciting. 🙂

  2. Neville J. Budd says :

    HI Barrie, I am so proud of my mate and look forward to getting one of your books, will buy the ebook and if and when we meet you can please bring me one of your signed books it will be my honour and privilege to pay you. Sorry I will not be able to make it to Waterstones in Bedford on Saturday, I would dearly love to be there and I bet Suzanne is over the moon for you. Take care and again VERY WELL DONE. Nev.

Leave a Reply

